January 2, 2019

At 7:45 A.M. presiding officer Deborah Shaw called meeting to order. The meeting was held at the District Office. Answering roll were: Mike Agosta, Scott Allen, Michael Linton and Kim Martin. Also present were Superintendent Tim Williams and Treasurer James Fausnaugh.

Nomination and Election of President

Michael Linton nominated Deborah Shaw as President for the 2019 calendar year. Mike Agosta seconded this motion. Upon vote call: Linton, aye; Agosta, aye; Allen, aye; Martin, aye; Shaw, aye.

Nomination and Election of Vice President

Mike Agosta nominated Michael Linton as Vice President for the 2019 calendar year. Scott Allen seconded this motion. Upon vote call: Agosta, aye; Allen, aye; Linton, aye; Martin, aye; Shaw, aye.

Oath of Office for President and Vice President - Administered by Treasurer James Fausnaugh

DO YOU SOLEMNLY SWEAR (OR AFFIRM) THAT YOU WILL SUPPORT THE CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED STATES, AND THE CONSTITUTION OF THE STATE OF OHIO: AND THAT YOU WILL FAITHFULLY AND IMPARTIALLY DISCHARGE YOUR DUTIES AS PRESIDENT AND VICE PRESIDENT OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF THE LOGAN ELM LOCAL SCHOOL DISTRICT, PICKAWAY COUNTY, OHIO TO THE BEST OF YOUR ABILITY, AND IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE LAWS IN EFFECT AND HEREAFTER TO BE ENACTED, DURING YOUR CONTINUANCE IN SAID OFFICE, AND UNTIL YOUR SUCCESSOR IS ELECTED OR QUALIFIED.

Both Shaw and Linton answered: "I DO"

Establish Regular Meeting Schedule for 2019

A motion was offered by Kim Martin to adopt the following schedule for 2019 Board of Education meetings:

MONTH	DAY	DATE	TIME	LOCATION
January	Monday	14	6:00 P.M.	McDowell
February	Monday	11	6:00 P.M.	Washington
March	Monday	11	6:00 P.M.	Laurelville
April	Monday	8	6:00 P.M.	Salt Creek
May	Monday	13	6:00 P.M.	Pickaway
June	Monday	24	6:00 P.M.	McDowell
July	Monday	15	6:00 P.M.	McDowell
August	Monday	12	6:00 P.M.	McDowell
September	Monday	9	6:00 P.M.	Washington
October	Monday	7	6:00 P.M.	Laurelville
November	Monday	11	6:00 P.M.	Pickaway
December	Monday	9	6:00 P.M.	McDowell

Mike Agosta seconded this motion. Upon vote call: Martin, aye; Agosta, aye; Allen, aye; Linton, aye; Shaw, aye.

Dispense with Reading of the Minutes for 2019

A motion was offered by Michael Linton to dispense with reading of the minutes for 2019. Scott Allen seconded this motion. Upon vote call: Linton, aye; Allen, aye; Agosta, aye; Martin, aye; Shaw, aye.

Organizational Meeting

January 2, 2019

Records Training

A motion was offered by Michael Linton for the Board to designate Treasurer James Fausnaugh to attend required public records training on their behalf. Scott Allen seconded this motion. Upon vote call: Linton, aye; Allen, aye; Agosta, aye; Martin, aye; Shaw, aye.

Superintendent Appointed Committees for 2019

Superintendent appointed 2019 Committees as follows:

Buildings & Grounds/Transportation Mike Agosta

Michael Linton

Finance - (Negotiations, Budget) Scott Allen

Michael Linton

Policy/Instruction Kim Martin

Debbie Shaw

Personnel Kim Martin

Deborah Shaw

Athletic Council Mike Agosta

Michael Linton

Kim Martin Student Achievement Liaison Scott Allen

Legislative Liaison

Authorize Superintendent to Accept Resignations

The following motion was made by Michael Linton:

To authorize the Superintendent, on behalf of this Board, to accept resignations which have been submitted by employees during times when this Board is not in session, subject to ratification by this Board, provided however, that upon Ratification by this Board, such resignations shall be deemed effective as of the date and time of the Superintendent's acceptance. The authorization provided by this resolution shall remain in effect until withdrawn by formal action of this Board, commence on January 2, 2019 and remain in effect through January 2, 2020.

Mike Agosta seconded the motion. Upon vote call: Linton, aye; Agosta, aye; Allen, aye; Martin, aye; Shaw, aye.

Authorize Superintendent to Hire Staff between Board Meetings

The following motion was made by Mike Agosta:

To authorize the Superintendent, during periods when this Board is not in session, to make offers of employment directly to candidates for either teaching or non teaching positions on behalf of this Board, and to acknowledge acceptance of such offers on behalf of this Board, subject to a subsequent vote of ratification by this Board; provided however, that upon ratification by this Board, the employment shall be deemed effective as of the date and time of the employee's acceptance of the Superintendent's offer. Nothing in this resolution shall require the Board of Education to employ or continue to employ an individual who has not provided a criminal records check satisfactory to the Board or who has not satisfied any other prerequisite to employment created by law or Board policy. The authorization provided by this resolution shall remain in effect until withdrawn by formal action of this Board, commence on January 2, 2019 and remain in effect through January 2, 2020.

Scott Allen seconded this motion. Upon vote call: Agosta, aye; Allen, aye; Linton, aye;

Organizational Meeting

January 2, 2019

Martin, aye; Shaw, aye.

Nominate Representative for the JEDD Board

A motion was offered by Scott Allen to appoint Michael Linton as the Logan Elm representative to serve on the JEDD Board for the 2019 calendar year. Kim Martin seconded this motion. Upon vote call: Allen, aye; Martin, aye; Agosta, aye; Linton, aye; Shaw, aye.

Approve Legal Counsel

A motion was offered by Michael Linton to appoint Scott Scriven LLP and Bricker and Eckler LLP to be used as the District's legal counsel for the 2019 calendar year. Scott Allen seconded this motion. Upon vote call: Linton, aye; Allen, aye; Agosta, aye; Martin, aye; Shaw, aye.

Superintendent's Report

Next Board Meeting

Monday, January 14, 2019 - 6:00 P.M. – McDowell Middle School (District Office).

Work Session

Monday, January 14, 2019 - 6:30 P.M. – McDowell Middle School (District Office).

<u>Adjourn</u>

	At 8:04 A.M. Mike	Agosta motioned to adj	ourn. Kim Martin	seconded this motion.
--	-------------------	------------------------	------------------	-----------------------

Deborah Shaw, President	James Fausnaugh, Treasurer